GENERAL INFORMATION

SR-22 – An SR-22 is an insurance certificate that your insurance company files with the department. Wyoming Statute 31-9-401 requires that proof of financial responsibility be provided for certain violations or actions. Proof of financial responsibility must be maintained for three years from the date it is required. When an SR-22 is on file, the insurance company must notify the department when there is a cancellation of the insurance. The SR-22 is required to apply for an Ignition Interlock Restricted License. If the SR-22 is not on file by the end of your mandatory suspension, your driving privilege will remain suspended until the SR-22 is filed.

Probationary driver license – To obtain limited driving privileges during a suspension, you must submit a written request for a record review along with a \$15 fee. If you qualify for a probationary license, paperwork will be sent to you that must be completed and returned with a \$25 fee. You can only have one probationary driver license in a five year period. If an SR-22 is required, it must be on file before a probationary license can be issued. Wyoming law prohibits the issuance of limited driving privileges for certain violations.

Reinstatement fees – This fee can be paid at any Wyoming Driver License Exam office or mailed to the Cheyenne Driver Services office. This fee is in addition to any fees for a new driver license if one is issued to you. The child support reinstatement fee is \$5. All other suspensions and revocation reinstatement fees are \$50. This fee must be paid before an ignition interlock restricted license can be issued.

Revocation – A revocation invalidates your driver license, and you must go through a driver investigation to be re-licensed once the revocation is over. You cannot have limited driving privileges during a revocation. Offenses that will cause a revocation are: third or subsequent driving while under the influence (DWUI); third or subsequent reckless driving; leaving the scene of an injury accident; homicide by vehicle; or any felony that is a direct result of the manner of driving.

Disqualification – A disqualification indicates your CDL license/privileges have been disqualified. To obtain a CDL once disqualification is over requires retesting of all CDL knowledge and skills tests.

Some offenses that cause a disqualification are: DWUI – one year or lifetime; with hazmat three years or lifetime; refusal of chemical test – one year or lifetime; with hazmat – three years or lifetime; serious traffic violations – 60 or 120 days; or railroad violations – 60 or 120 days or one year.

Ignition interlock requirement – To have driving privileges during an eligible suspension/revocation, the law requires a Wyoming-approved ignition interlock device installed in any vehicle being driven and an ignition interlock restricted license. To be issued: SR22 required; \$50 reinstatement fee required; and a valid installation certificate.

Eligible ignition interlock offenses/requirements: first DWUI conviction

- BAC .15 percent or greater six months; second DWUI conviction
- one year; third DWUI conviction two years; fourth or subsequent DWUI offense lifetime with right to appeal with court after five years.

For further information see our website:

http://www.dot.state.wy.us/home/driver_license_records.html

ADMINISTRATIVE PER SE

An Administrative Per Se suspension is imposed when you have been arrested for DWUI and the results of your chemical test show an alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or greater. Dismissal of the DWUI in court will not affect the Administrative Per Se suspension.

Length of suspension – 90 days. (If you are convicted of the DWUI in court, the time served for the Administrative Per Se suspension will be credited toward the DWUI suspension.)

Start of suspension – 30 days after the issuance of the temporary driver

license and notice of suspension given by the officer at the time of the arrest, or at the end of any existing suspension or revocation. (An explanation of your opportunity for a hearing is listed on the form issued by the officer.)

Eligible for probationary driver license – If you have not had one in the past five years and you don't have an ignition interlock requirement.

Ignition interlock requirement – If BAC is .15 percent or greater and convicted of DWUI, BAC taken from Administrative Per Se action.

Reinstatement requirements – Completion of all withdrawal actions on record; and payment of reinstatement fee.

DWUI (Driving While Under the Influence)

FIRST OFFENSE (within previous 10 years)

Length of suspension – 90 days. If you served or are serving a suspension for Administrative Per Se, the suspension period will be the same.

Eligible for probationary driver license – If you have not had one in the past five years and the BAC is less than .15 percent.

Ignition interlock requirement – If BAC was .15 percent or greater, ignition interlock restricted license required for six months. Requirement begins 30 days after notification.

CDL disqualification - One year.

Reinstatement requirements – Completion of all withdrawal actions on record, SR-22, and payment of reinstatement fee.

SECOND OFFENSE (within previous 10 years)

Length of suspension – One year. If you served or are serving a suspension for Administrative Per Se, an additional nine-month suspension will be added to your record.

Eligible for probationary driver license – No, according to Wyoming law, limited driving privileges cannot be issued for any DWUI after the first offense.

Ignition interlock requirement – One year. Requirement begins 30 days after notification or start of suspension.

CDL disqualification – Lifetime; if no hazmat involved, may apply for investigation after 10 years to see if eligible to have lifetime disqualification ended.

Reinstatement requirements – Completion of all withdrawal actions on record, SR-22, and payment of reinstatement fee.

THIRD OR SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE (within previous 10 years)

Length of revocation - Three years.

Eligible for probationary driver license - No.

Ignition interlock requirement – Two years for third offense or lifetime if fourth or subsequent. If wanting to drive during entire three-year revocation, must keep ignition interlock license and device three years and until investigation completed. If have lifetime requirement, may appeal to court after five years to see if eligible to have removed.

Reinstatement requirements – Completion of all withdrawal actions on record, SR-22, and payment of reinstatement fee. (*See REVOCATION for re-licensing requirements.*)

YOUTHFUL DRIVER WITH DETECTABLE ALCOHOL

BLOOD ALCOHOL LEVEL 0.02 PERCENT OR GREATER

If you are younger than 21 years of age and are in actual physical control of a vehicle with an alcohol concentration of 0.02 percent or more, you will be suspended.

FIRST OFFENSE

Length of suspension - 90 days.

Eligible for probationary driver license – If you have not had one in the past five years and the BAC is less than .15 percent.

SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE (within a 2-year period)

Length of suspension - Six months.

Ignition interlock requirement – Second offense – one year; third offense – two years; fourth or subsequent offense – lifetime requirement. Requirement begins 30 days after notification or start of suspension. Lifetime requirement may be appealed to court after five years to see if eligible to have removed.

Reinstatement requirements – Completion of all withdrawal actions on record; and payment of reinstatement fee.

RECKLESS DRIVING

FIRST OFFENSE (within previous five years)

Length of suspension - 90 days.

Eligible for probationary driver license – If you have not had one in the past five years.

Reinstatement requirements – Completion of all withdrawal actions on record, SR-22, and payment of reinstatement fee.

SECOND OFFENSE (within previous five years)

Length of suspension - Six months.

Eligible for probationary driver license - If you have not had one in the past five years.

Reinstatement requirements – Completion of all withdrawal actions on record, SR-22, and payment of reinstatement fee.

THIRD OR SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE (within previous five years)

Length of revocation - One year.

Eligible for probationary driver license - No.

Reinstatement requirements – Completion of all withdrawal actions on record, SR-22, and payment of reinstatement fee. (See REVO-CATION for re-licensing requirements.)

LEAVING SCENE OF AN INJURY ACCIDENT, HOMICIDE BY VEHICLE, OR A FELONY WHICH IS A RESULT OF MANNER OF DRIVING

Length of revocation - One year.

Eligible for probationary driver license - No.

Reinstatement requirements – Completion of all withdrawal actions on record, SR-22, and payment of reinstatement fee. (*See REVO-CATION for re-licensing requirements.*)

TRANSPORTING LIQUOR TO A MINOR

Length of suspension – One year.

Eligible for probationary driver license – Yes, if you have not had one in the past five years.

Reinstatement requirements – Completion of all withdrawal actions on record; and payment of reinstatement fee.

NONRESIDENT VIOLATOR COMPACT

A nonresident violator compact suspension results when a court informs the department that there is an outstanding traffic citation against you. This applies to residents as well as nonresidents from states belonging to the NRVC compact.

Length of suspension – Indefinite until requirements for reinstatement are met.

Eligible for probationary driver license - No.

FTA Suspension – Same rules as the Nonresident Violator Compact, but applies to nonresidents from the non-compact states and some handicap, emergency parking, no insurance, seat-belt and no driver license violations. Suspension is until reinstatement requirements are met and/or up to 12 months.

Reinstatement requirements – Prior to start date of suspension, notice from the court indicating you have satisfied the requirements of the citation. (Suspension will be deleted from record.) After start date of suspension, notice from the court indicating you have satisfied the requirements of the citation; and payment of reinstatement fee.

MOVING VIOLATION SUSPENSION

Length of suspension – You are allowed up to three moving violations within a 12-month period. On the fourth moving violation, your driving privilege will be suspended for 90 days. Each additional moving violation received within a 12-month period of your last three moving violations, will cause an additional 90 day suspension.

The date of the offense is used when determining the 12 month period.

If you have a restricted class (RC) license, your driving privilege will be suspended for 90 days for your first moving violation conviction, and for one year for your second moving violation.

Eligible for probationary driver license – Yes, if you have not had one in the past five years.

Reinstatement requirements – Completion of all withdrawal actions on record; and payment of reinstatement fee.

COMPULSORY INSURANCE

A compulsory insurance suspension will result if you are convicted in court of not having liability insurance.

Length of suspension – Indefinite until requirements for reinstatement are met.

Eligible for probationary driver license - No.

Reinstatement requirements – Prior to start date of suspension, SR-22 (Suspension will be deleted from record.); after start date of suspension, SR-22; and reinstatement fee.

UNINSURED ACCIDENT

An uninsured accident suspension results if you are involved in a crash without liability insurance and/or WYDOT is unable to electronically verify evidence of insurance.

If you received a notice of suspension for an accident and you were insured, you did not submit the SR-21 or did not properly complete the SR-21 form mailed to you. You need to complete the SR-21 form and send it in to the department or submit a letter from your insurance company verifying coverage for the vehicle that you were driving on the date of the crash.

Length of suspension – Indefinite until requirements for reinstatement are met.

Eligible for probationary driver license - No.

Reinstatement requirements – If you were uninsured, you can do one of the following: submit a notarized release from the other party(s) involved in the accident stating they are not holding you liable for their damages and/or injuries or that you have made restitution to them; submit a conditional release – signed and notarized by you and the other party(s) stating an agreement has been made for you to make payments for their damages and/or injuries; or post a cash deposit for the total amount of property damage, plus \$25,000 per injury. One year from the date of the accident, you will be entitled to a refund of your cash deposit, provided there are no judgments against you.

If the requirements are not met prior to the start date of the suspension, you will also be required to pay the reinstatement fee and file an SR-22 in addition to one of the above requirements.

DRIVING UNDER SUSPENSION, REVOCATION OR CANCELLATION

The punishment for this violation could be imprisonment for not less than seven days nor more than six months and/or a fine of not more than \$750.

A person under the age of 21 previously convicted under W.S. 31-5-234 (Youthful Offender Law) or W.S. 31-5-233 (DWUI) shall not be punished by imprisonment, but shall have his license suspended for 30 days.

CHILD SUPPORT SUSPENSION

Child support suspension results when WYDOT is notified by the Department of Family Services or the court that the driver license/privileges should be suspended due to nonpayment of child support.

Length of suspension – Until WYDOT is notified by Department of Family Services or the court of satisfactory compliance of child support payments.

Reinstatement requirements – Prior to start date, notice from Family Services or court of satisfactory compliance (suspension will be deleted from record). After start of suspension, notice from Department of Family Services or court of compliance; and \$5 reinstatement fee.



Wyoming Department of Transportation
Driver Services
Cheyenne, WY 82009-3340

Customer Service – (307) 777-4800