Wyoming Department of Transportation
Photo of view from Chief Joseph Highway

Commissioner Biographies

Pete Schoonmaker


Chairman - Peter Schoonmaker represents Aeronautics Commission District 5, which includes Sheridan, Johnson, Campbell, Weston, and Crook Counties. Chairman Schoonmaker is currently Chairman, CEO, and President of Summit Gas Resources, Inc., a private natural gas production and exploration company. From 2003 to 2011 he was CEO and President of Pinnacle Gas Resources, Inc., a NASDAQ listed Public Company.  In 1995, he joined U.S. Energy, a publicly held mining and energy company, and served as President, Chief Operating Officer and Director of U.S. Energy`s subsidiary Rocky Mountain Gas Inc.  In 1985, he served as President, Owner, and Operator of a land and agricultural company based in Colorado and Wyoming. Chairman Schoonmaker is also a Director and Chairman of the Finance and Investment Committee for the Sheridan-based Whitney Benefits Foundation, a non-profit educational foundation, and he received his pilot's license in 1997. Chairman Schoonmaker, his wife Janice, and their two (2) children live in Sheridan.  Term: 03/02/15 to 03/01/2021

William DeVore


Commissioner – William F. DeVore represents District 3, which includes Fremont, Natrona, Converse, and Niobrara counties on the Commission.  A Wyoming native, William F. DeVore was born in Laramie, and has lived in Casper most of his life.   Bill earned his pilot credentials in the aviation program at Big Bend Community College in 1980, a FAR Part 141 approved program.   He started his aviation career at Sun Valley Aviation as an aviation lineman, flight instructor, and charter pilot.   He was then was then hired as a pilot by Sinclair Oil, then later for Columbia Pictures and Sony Corporation in Los Angeles flying executive jet aircraft.  He holds an Airline Transport Pilot (ATP) certificate, a CFII rating, and holds type ratings in the following turbojet aircraft:  Lear Jet, Israeli Aircraft Jet, Cessna Citation 500 series, and Dassault Falcon 50/900.  He is presently flying a Beech Baron and a Beech Duke for business use.   Bill and his brother Fred own Peterbilt of Wyoming, a medium and heavy duty truck and trailer dealership with four locations in Wyoming.  He served 10 years on the Casper/Natrona County International Airport Board, including serving two years as President.  Bill is an active member of the Casper Rotary Club, and the Casper Nordic Ski Club board.   He and his wife Nina have 3 children and enjoy traveling, cycling, skiing, and spending time at their cabin on Casper Mountain.  Term: 03/02/2015 to 03/01/2019

Charlie Ksir


Commissioner - Charles Ksir represents Aeronautics Commission District 1, which includes Albany, Laramie, Platte, and Goshen counties, and he was appointed to a six-year term on the Commission in 2005. He has been a professor in the Department of Psychology at the University of Wyoming since 1972, teaching and conducting research in psychopharmocology (drugs that affect the brain and behavior).  Now retired from active research, he continues to teach part time, and to make updates to his textbook, "Drugs, Society, and Human Behavior".  During his time at the university, he was a department head, associate vice president, and served four (4) years as Dean of the College of Education.  He was on the Albany County School Board for nine (9) years.  Commissioner Ksir has been a pilot since 1990, and he and his wife, Sandy, own a Cessna TR182 that they use to visit family in New Mexico and California. They also enjoy spending time at their cabin near Centennial. Term:  03/01/11 to 3/01/2017

Jerry Dilts


Vice Chairman - Jerry Dilts resides in Riverton, serving on the Commission for the District At Large, and is a private pilot with a single engine land and rotor-craft rating. He graduated from Douglas High School and Northeastern Wyoming College, and is a lifelong rancher in Campbell and Converse Counties. He is a graduate of Wyoming Leadership Education and Development Class IV, and past president of its alumni association. Vice Chairman Dilts previously served on the Campbell County School Board, and was on the DEQ Air Quality Advisory Board under the Sullivan Administration. He currently is a member of the Wyoming Stock Growers Association, member and past president of the Wyoming Wool Growers Association. He has three (3) children, and five (5) grandchildren.  Term:  03/01/2011 to 03/01/2017

John Newton


CommissionerJohn Newton resides in Cody serving on the Commission for the District At Large.  He is a private pilot owning a single engine aircraft.  He received college and graduate level degrees in science.  He is retired from the Federal Bureau of Investigation after a career as a Special Agent.  Following his retirement and moving to Cody with his wife, he served several terms on the Joint Powers Board at Yellowstone Regional Airport “YRA”, and during this tenure served two years as Secretary and one year as Chairman. Also, during his time as a Board member he assisted in the planning, construction, and development of the new terminal at Yellowstone Regional Airport in Cody.  Term: 03/02/2015 to 03/01/2021

Doyle Vaughan


Commissioner - Doyle Vaughan of Jackson represents District 2, which included Teton, Sublette, Lincoln, Uinta, Sweetwater and Carbon counties. He previously served two five-year terms on the Jackson Hole Airport Board, with two (2) of those years as the Chairman.  He was employed as a captain for Southwest Airlines for over 20 years.  He also served as an instructor pilot for the US Army Primary Helicopter School at Ft. Wolters, Texas, during the Vietnam War.  After retiring from Southwest, Commissioner Vaughan and his wife, Diana, founded Vaughan Distributing, which markets synthetic lubricants.  Commissioner Vaughan holds pilot certificate No. 1441331, with airline transport type ratings, and Boeing 737 helicopter, and commercial helicopter endorsements. His total flight hours exceed 28,000 accident- and incident-free flying hours.  Term:  03/01/2014 to 03/01/2020

Chuck Wilkie


Commissioner - Chuck Wilkie of Worland represents Aeronautics District 4, which includes Washakie, Hot Springs, Park, and Big Horn counties, and he was appointed to a six-year term on the Commission in 2011. Wilkie graduated with a bachelor's degree from the University of Wyoming and master's degree from the University of Nevada-Reno. Both degrees are in range science. He retired after a 36-year career with the Bureau of Land Management, where he led the coal leasing EIS team in the Powder River Basin for six years. He has been involved in the Washakie County community efforts since his retirement in 2000, and was a member of the Washakie Economic Development Association for six years.  Term:  03/01/11 to 03/01/2017

Back to Top