Wyoming Department of Transportation
image-from-the-document-manager-5

Disqualifications

CDL Disqualifications

Wyoming law (W.S. 31-7-305) states commercial driver license (CDL) holders may be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV), have their license canceled or be prohibited from obtaining a CDL if they are convicted of 2 or more serious moving violations in a 3-year period.  The first disqualification is for 60 days.  A third or subsequent conviction causes a 120 day disqualification.  
 
The following are considered serious violations:
  • Speeding 15 mph or more 
  • Following too closely
  • Not obtaining a CDL
  • Driving without a CDL in possession
  • Improper or no endorsements
  • Reckless driving
  • Erratic or improper lane change
  • Use of cell phone OR texting while driving a CMV
 
A driver will have their license cancelled and will be disqualified from driving a CMV or from obtaining a CDL if convicted of any of the following:
  • Driving under the influence
  • Drives or operates a CMV with a blood alcohol of .04% or greater
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
  • Driving under suspension in a CMV
  • Motor vehicle used in a felony
  • Negligent operation of a CMV causing a fatality
 
A first conviction results in a driver being disqualified for one (1) year.  If hazardous materials were involved, it is a three (3) year disqualification.  A second or subsequent conviction causes a lifetime disqualification.
 

Railroad Crossing Disqualifications

CDL drivers who have a passenger or hazardous material endorsement are required to stop at all railroad crossings.  You will be disqualified if convicted of one of the following:
  • Failure to stop at a railroad crossing,
  • Failure to obey a traffic control device,
  • Failure to negotiate a railroad crossing because of insufficient under carriage clearance, and 
  • Failure to stop before reaching the crossing if the tracks are not clear.
 
A first conviction will result in a 60 day disqualification and a 120 day disqualification for a second or subsequent conviction.
 
The following steps are required to obtain your CDL after it has been disqualified. You will need to reapply for a Commercial Leraners Permit (CLP) which includes retaking all knowledge tests for the class of CDL that you wish to obtain. You will be required to hold the CLP no less than 14 days to be eligible to retake the required skills test. Once all required testing has been completed you will then be eligible to obtain your CDL. Fees are listed below.
 
  • $25 - Any class CDL (Commercial Driver License)
  • $20 - Any class CLP (Commercial Learner's Permit)
  • $40 - Skills test fee
 

Back to Top