Wyoming Department of Transportation
snowplow

Lost / Renewal

Lost License

If you've lost your Wyoming driver license or identification card, and you are still in Wyoming, you must:

  • Appear in person at your local driver exam office
  • Present a valid U.S. passport or state-certified birth certificate 
  • Provide proof of a name change (such as a marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, etc.) if your name is now different or has changed from your birth certificate or U.S. passport.
  • Present proof of your Social Security Number (W-2 form, IRS tax form, SSN card, etc.)
  • Present two (2) current forms of proof of Wyoming residency ( See below for more information on proof of residency.)

Your license will be renewed and you will be required to complete any tests associated with the renewal process. If you have lost your identification card, no tests are required. Please allow at least 60 days to process your application.

If you've lost your Wyoming driver license or identification card, and you are not currently in Wyoming, you must:

  • Print and complete the application form. (If you have questions, you may contact Customer Service at 307-777-4800 for assistance).
  • Send the form to:  Driver Services - WYDOT, 5300 Bishop Blvd., Cheyenne, WY  82009-3340, with the appropriate renewal fee: $15 class "A, B or C" nonCDL, $20 for CDL, add $3 if you have a motorcycle class code.
  • If you are a minor, under the age of 18 years, your legal parent or guardian must sign the minor's release in front of a notary and the notary must certify their signature on the back of the application form.
  • include two (2) current forms of proof of Wyoming residency.
  • Please allow 60 days to process your application.

Your license will be renewed provided you are eligible to renew by mail. Wyoming state law only allows for one renewal by mail every eight years. If you are not eligible to renew by mail, your new license will be issued with the same expiration date as your lost one. Identification cards issued after Jan. 1, 2010 are valid for a maximum of eight years. To have your license or ID card mailed to you out of state, you must also complete a "Forwarding Request" form and provide two (2) current forms of proof of residency before the card can be mailed back to you.

PROOF OF RESIDENCY

The following are acceptable documents for proof of residency -  any two (2):

  1. Current utility bill with your name and residential (not P.O. box) address on it;
  2. Current rental or lease agreement with your name and residential (not P.O. box) address on it;
  3. Certified voter registration certificate (containing your name and residential address - not P.O. box) displaying the stamp of the current county clerk for that county; or
  4. Vehicle registration in your name with your Wyoming residential address (not P.O. box) on it.

If you do not have these documents, you may contact Customer Service at 307-777-4810 for assistance and information concerning other possible acceptable documents that could prove you are a resident of Wyoming.


Renewing Your Driver License

To renew your current Wyoming driver license, you may choose one of the following ways:

  • Renew by mail (Send form to:  Driver Services-WYDOT, 5300 Bishop Blvd, Cheyenne, WY  82009-3340)
  • Renew in person

Renewing by mail:    

Wyoming state law allows for the renewal of a driver's license by mail once every eight years. If you will be out of the state when your driver license is due for renewal, and you already renewed by mail the last time, you must renew it before you leave. Once you have left Wyoming, renewal by mail a second time in a row is prohibited. An application form is mailed to you 120 days prior to the expiration of your license; however, you may renew prior to that time without any problem. You may also use the downloaded form if you do not receive one in the mail. You must include (2) forms of current proof of residency with your application and the required fee.  Please allow 30-60 days to process your renewal application.  If you renew your license by mail, and you wish to have it sent back to you at an out-of-state address, you will be required to complete a "Forwarding Request" form and provide 2 forms of proof of Wyoming residency.

CDL Drivers:  If you hold a commercial driver's license with the Hazardous Materials endorsement, you cannot renew by mail because you must take the written test for the endorsement you hold.  However, if you are willing to drop the "H" or "X" endorsement(s), you can renew by mail. You are also required to have a valid Federal Hazardous Materials Assessment on file with the department. (Remember, each assessment is only valid for a five-year period.)

Military Exemption: Active-duty military personnel may renew by mail as often as is necessary; however, when you visit Wyoming again, you need to appear in person at a local driver exam office and renew your license at that time. A special statement will be displayed on your driver's license that indicates the license expiration date is waived when accompanied by an active-duty military ID card.

Non-U.S. Citizens: If you are not a U.S. citizen, you cannot renew your Wyoming driver's license by mail unless you are classified as a "Permanent Resident" by the Bureau of Citizenship & Immigration Services, and are currently licensed with Wyoming with that classification.

E-mail requests or questions regarding renewing your license by mail.

Renewing in person:      

Real ID requirements:         When renewing your Wyoming driver license and/or your Wyoming identification card, you are required to present all of the following documents:

  1. Valid U.S. passport or state-certified birth certificate **
  2. Proof of Social Security Number (W-2 form, IRS tax form, SSN card, etc.)
  3. Two (2) current forms of proof of Wyoming residency (see below under Proof of Residency)
  4. **Proof of a name change (such as a marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, etc.) if your name is now different or has changed from your birth certificate or U.S. passport. 

Once every eight years, you are required to appear in person to renew your driver's license. An updated photo will be taken at that time and you will be required to pass a vision screening. You will also be required to show proof of citizenship if you are born outside of the United States. (see information below) If you have any medical or vision problems, you may be asked to have your doctor complete a Medical Evaluation form  and/or a Vision Evaluation form. You are required to show proof of residency such as a rental/lease agreement, voter registration certificate, vehicle registration, etc. with your name and residential address on it (see below under Proof of Residency). If you do not have your current Wyoming driver license to surrender at the time you renew it, you must present two other forms of identification such as a certified birth certificate, valid U.S. passport, car registration, W-2 form, etc.  

Please allow 60 days to process your application.  If you need to have your license or ID card mailed to you out-of-state, you will be required to complete a "Forwarding Request" form and show proof of Wyoming residency.

CDL Drivers:  You are required to present a valid federal DOT Medical Certificate upon renewal. If you have the Hazardous Materials endorsement on your license ("H" or "X"), you are required to take the Hazmat written test each time you renew your license. You are also required to have a valid Federal Hazardous Materials Assessment on file with the department. (Remember, each assessment is only valid for a five-year period.)

Military Exemption:  Active-duty military personnel must present their valid military ID card to be renewed with the expiration date waiver statement. Having this statement displayed on your driver license is not mandatory; however, it is offered as a convenience for the license holder when stationed out-of-state.

Non-US Citizens or Citizens Born Outside the US:  If you were not born in the United States, you are required to present one of the following documents every time you renew your Wyoming driver license in person or have any kind of service provided: 

  • U.S. Department of State Certificate of Birth Abroad,
  • U.S. Department of State Certificate of Naturalization or Citizenship, and/or
  • Bureau of Citizenship and Naturalization documents including: Resident Alien card, Employment Authorization card, valid passport with VISA and I-94, and any other documents that may have been issued to you by the Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services which verify legal entry into the United States. Your lawful status will be verified with the BCIS.

PROOF OF RESIDENCY

The following are acceptable documents for proof of residency -  any two (2):

  1. Current utility bill with your name and residential (not P.O. box) address on it;
  2. Current rental or lease agreement with your name and residential (not P.O. box) address on it;
  3. Certified voter registration certificate (containing your name and residential address - not P.O. box) displaying the stamp of the current county clerk for that county; or
  4. Vehicle registration in your name with your Wyoming residential address (not P.O. box) on it.

If you do not have these documents, you may contact Customer Service at 307-777-4810 for assistance and information concerning other possible acceptable documents that could prove you are a resident of Wyoming.

 


Veteran Designation

Beginning July 1, Wyoming veterans have the option of requesting a veteran designation be shown on the front of their Wyoming driver license or identification card. 
 
The red “V” in the upper right-hand corner of the license or card will allow Wyoming veterans to validate their honorable service with a government-issued identification card.
 
To qualify for the designation, applicants must submit a verification form and copy of their separation papers (Form DD 214 Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty) to the Wyoming Veterans Commission. The form is available on the Forms page.
 
The commission will notify WYDOT Driver Services if an applicant qualifies as an honorably discharged veteran. The Veterans Commission will not keep the DD 214 copies on file, they will be destroyed to protect privacy. The commission will notify the applicant if there is a problem with the separation documents submitted.
 
Veterans will need to indicate on their driver license or ID card application that they wish to have the veteran designation on their card. Veterans who get their status verified before going to a WYDOT Driver Services office to renew their license should get their new license with the red “V” in the mail in about three weeks.
 
It is recommended that veterans contact the Veterans Commission for verification at least a week before going to a WYDOT Driver Services office to renew a license.  There is no additional fee required to get the veteran designation, but the normal fee charged for a new or renewal license will apply.
 
Applicants who already have the veteran designation on their license from another state will still be required to have their status verified by the Wyoming Veterans Commission to get the designation when they come in to get a Wyoming license, because some states do not require the veteran to be honorably discharged, as required by Wyoming law.
 
Veterans Commission Contact number is 307-777-8152.

Back to Top