FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS STATE ASSIGNED VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBERS

Does the vehicle or trailer need to be complete, street legal, drivable, etc. before a state assigned VIN will be issued?

Yes. If the trailer/motor vehicle is not complete, we will not issue a state assigned VIN.

Does WYDOT issue a VIN (HIN) for a boat?

No. WYDOT does not issue a HIN (Hull Identification Number) for a boat. A boat HIN is issued by the Wyoming Game & Fish Department. http://wgfd.wyo.gov/web2011/FISHING-1000190.aspx; or call 307-777-4600.

Can the required \$20.00 fee be cash, check, money order, or credit card?

Yes. Cash, checks, money orders, and credit cards are all acceptable forms of payment. (Please do not MAIL cash payments). An additional **\$2.50** charge will be added to credit card payments.

Is a VIN inspection required before a VIN is issued?

Yes. A VIN inspection by Wyoming law enforcement is required <u>before</u> a VIN will be issued. The officer will either write "no VIN found" on the inspection, or list every VIN number that is found on the vehicle. Trailers made from a pickup box do not need a VIN inspection.

Does the VIN inspection have to be completed by Wyoming law enforcement?

Yes. The VIN inspection must be completed by Wyoming law enforcement. The officer must state "No VIN Found" or list every VIN number found on the completed vehicle or trailer. If it is not possible to have the VIN inspection completed in Wyoming, provide a signed & dated statement explaining why it was necessary for out-of-state law enforcement to complete the application.

If the components for the vehicle or trailer were not purchased because they were components the applicants had on their property, or were given to them, does proof of ownership still need to be provided?

Yes. Proof of ownership for all major components must always be provided. Provide a **copy** of the bill of sale. When a bill of sale is not available, provide a signed and dated statement explaining who, where, & when the components were obtained (including names and addresses). WYDOT needs to know where the components were obtained. WYDOT **does not** need to know the **cost** of the components.

If a whole vehicle or trailer was purchased or obtained, does proof of ownership need to be provided?

Yes. Proof of ownership must <u>always</u> be provided. Provide a **copy** of the bill of sale. If no bill of sale is available, provide a signed and dated statement explaining why. Provide the name and address of the person/company the vehicle or trailer was purchased or obtained from. Provide prior license plate numbers or prior registration papers to prove that the person who sold you the vehicle owned the vehicle. If any of this information is not available, provide a signed and dated statement explaining why.

Does the year of the vehicle or trailer have to be provided?

Yes. You must provide the "year" of the vehicle. We are unable to issue a VIN without a year. "Unknown" is not acceptable.

- Homemade Trailer: The year of the trailer will be the year the trailer was completed, became street legal, etc.
- Factory Made Trailer: The year listed on a prior title or registration or provide a picture of
 a similar trailer from the internet, catalog, etc. to compare to a picture of your trailer (ie: If
 the trailer is a 1974 Lakota Trailer, send us a picture of your trailer and a picture of a
 1974 Lakota Trailer from the internet, so that we can verify that they are similar
 trailers.) If your trailer is a boat trailer, and you purchased it with a boat, proof of the year
 of the boat will work for the year of the boat trailer.
- Assembled Motor Vehicle or vehicle constructed from various "Makes" of vehicles:
 The year of the oldest major component.
- Factory Made Motor Vehicle: The year listed on prior title or registration or provide a picture of a similar vehicle from the internet, catalog, etc. to compare to a picture of your vehicle. (ie: If the vehicle is a 1954 Ford, send us a picture of your vehicle and a picture of a 1954 Ford from the internet, so that we can verify that they are vehicles from the same year.)
- Factory Made Motor Vehicle when applying for a "Custom" license plate: Custom license plates are issued to vehicles over 25 years old, altered from the original design or the body is constructed of non-original materials, and used for occasional transportation. The year of the custom vehicle should reflect the year that the vehicle resembles.

What "Make" will be listed on the title?

- Homemade Trailer: "Homemade"
- Factory Made Trailer: The make originally assigned by the manufacturer (ie: "Lakota", "EZ Loader", "Heritage", etc.)
- Assembled Motor Vehicle or vehicle constructed from various "Makes" of vehicles (ie: Ford Body with a GMC Chassis, etc): "Assembled"

• Factory Made Motor Vehicle: The make originally assigned by the manufacturer. (ie: "Ford", "GMC", "Chevy", etc.). For the factory make to be assigned, you must prove that all parts used in the construction of the vehicle were from the same make. (ie: All Ford parts were used).

Does a photo of the trailer or vehicle need to be sent with the application?

Yes. A photo must <u>always</u> be provided. The photo can be a photograph, a computer printout of a photo, etc. You can also email the photo to mvs@wyo.gov. When e-mailing a photo, please include your name so we can match the picture to your paperwork. Please note, the picture can be taken with the boat/ATV/etc left on the trailer.

Do original titles, manufacturers statements of origin, & certificates of origin need to be sent with the application?

Yes. You MUST send the **original** Title, MSO, COO, etc. Copies will not be accepted. *Do not send original Bills of Sale - you will need the original Bill of Sale at the County.

If more than one state assigned VIN is needed, does an application & documentation need to be provided for each request?

Yes. Provide one application per vehicle.

Is a weight slip required for trailers or vehicles?

A weight slip is not required to receive the State Assigned VIN, but you may be required to provide a weight slip to the County before the title will be issued.

Is a VIN required for a car dolly?

No. A car dolly does not require a VIN. A car dolly does not require a title or plate.

Who can die punch the assigned state assigned VIN onto the vehicle or trailer?

The assigned state assigned VIN can be die punched by anyone (most welding shops will die punch the number also).

What size should the VIN be when it is die punched?

There is <u>not</u> a required size for the die punched VIN, but it must be readable by law enforcement.

Where should the VIN be die punched?

Trailers: The Assigned VIN shall be die punched on the metal part of the frame where it can be easily inspected. For uniformity, the assigned number shall be die punched as follows:

Two wheel trailer On the "A" frame or tongue

Trailer house On the "A" frame or tongue

All other trailers On the left side of the lengthwise frame forward of the rear wheels

Reconstructed Vehicles: The Assigned VIN shall be die punched on the frame to the left of the motor (driver's side) where it is clearly visible. If the vehicle does not have a frame, the number shall be die punched on a plate and attached to the firewall clearly visible.

Is a title sent with my state assigned VIN?

No. All titles are issued by the County Clerk's offices. WYDOT issues state assigned VINs & the customer receives a Certificate of Assignment of Vehicle Identification Number. The number issued must be die punched onto the trailer or vehicle. A Wyoming law enforcement officer must inspect the trailer or vehicle after the number is die punched to verify the number is found on the trailer or vehicle. The officer will sign the Certificate of Assignment of Vehicle Identification Number. The applicant then takes the Certificate & all original bills of sale, & a weight slip to their local county clerk's office to obtain a title.

CONTACT INFORMATION

Kelly Yerdon (Motor Vehicle Services) 307-777-4710

Shannon Degrazio (Motor Vehicle Services) 307-777-4825

<u>Jody Brown</u> (Motor Vehicle Services) <u>307-777-4717</u>

Andrew Smyth (Motor Vehicle Service) 307-777-4709

Shannon Ferree (Motor Vehicle Services) 307-777-4883