Cox elected AASHTO president

November 24, 2014

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Board of Directors today elected Wyoming Department of Transportation Director John Cox as the association's president. Iowa Department of Transportation Director Paul Trombino III was elected vice president.

"I am honored to accept this important leadership role at a time when AASHTO is celebrating its Centennial year," said Cox. "AASHTO has been there from the beginning, providing leadership to build the national transportation system we rely on today. As we enter our second century, AASHTO's work is far from over. The nation's aging transportation systems need to be maintained and modernized and that's going to require greater investment."

As president, Cox says his primary emphasis will be to advance a multi-year surface transportation reauthorization that closely reflects AASHTO's policy objectives.

"Gaining passage of this essential piece of legislation cannot be accomplished by AASHTO alone," Cox said. "Just as we've done in the past, the transportation community must work together with members of Congress and the American people to build consensus behind legislative proposals that can and must be enacted into law."

Cox's second emphasis area will be to explore the need to identify and advance reasonable opportunities to enhance state decision-making authority and limit federal regulation.