Becoming a Commissioner

The first step to becoming a Wyoming Transportation commissioner is submitting an application for appointment to the Governor's Office. Detailed information about whether an opening exists and the process of applying is available on the Governor's website.

Commissioners serve six-year terms, staggered to retain a majority of experienced commissioners. Practically speaking, commissioners may not succeed themselves in office since appointments must rotate among the counties within each district. Every two years, two or three new commissioners are appointed.  Terms officially begin March 1 and end Feb. 28.

Commission districts are comprised of the following counties:

  • District 1 – Goshen, Platte, and Laramie; next appointment scheduled for 2025;
  • District 2 – Albany, Carbon, and Sweetwater; next appointment scheduled for 2023;
  • District 3 – Lincoln, Sublette, Teton, and Uinta; next appointment scheduled for 2025;
  • District 4 – Campbell, Johnson, and Sheridan; next appointment scheduled for 2027;
  • District 5 – Big Horn, Hot Springs, Park, and Washakie; next appointment scheduled for 2023;
  • District 6 – Crook, Niobrara, and Weston; next appointment scheduled for 2027; and
  • District 7 – Converse, Fremont, and Natrona; next appointment scheduled for 2023.

State law requires a split in political party affiliation among commissioners. In any case, partisan politics rarely plays a part in Commission activity and minority party commissioners are often elected to leadership roles.

In the course of a full six-year term, commissioners spend substantial amount of time on department business. Consider that out of 20 to 22 working days a month, an average of four days will be spent on commission business -- going to meetings in Cheyenne, listening to constituents, answering questions, meeting with department personnel (especially the district engineer with whom most commissioners maintain close contact), and talking on the telephone.

As prescribed by state law, commissioners receive a salary of $600 per year. (This amount has not changed since the law was originally enacted in 1917!)  Commissioners are also reimbursed for expenses they incur while performing their duties of office.