Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

The ADA, enacted on July 26, 1990, is a civil rights law prohibiting discrimination against individuals on the basis of disability. ADA consists of five (5) titles outlining protections in the following areas:

  • Employment
  • State and local government services
  • Public accommodations
  • Telecommunications
  • Miscellaneous Provisions

Title II of ADA pertains to the programs, activities and services public entities provide. As a provider of public transportation services and programs, WYDOT must comply with this section of the Act as it specifically applies to state public service agencies and state transportation agencies. Title II of ADA provides that, “…no qualified individual with a disability shall, by reason of such disability, be excluded from participation in or be denied the benefits of the services, programs, or activities of a public entity, or be subjected to discrimination by any such entity.” (42 USC. Sec. 12132; 28 CFR 35.130)


Grievance Procedure under the ADA

Under the ADA, users of WYDOT facilities and services have the right to file a grievance if they believe WYDOT has not provided reasonable accommodation. The grievance procedure required by 28 CFR 35.107 can be found in Appendix A of the ADA Title II Self-Evaluation and Transition Plan below. The WYDOT ADA Complaint Form is also provided below.

Under the Grievance Procedure, a formal complaint must be filed within 180 calendar days of the alleged occurrence. WYDOT will act or respond only to complaints made through the grievance process identified in Appendix A.



Courtney Herceg, WYDOT ADA Coordinator
5300 Bishop Blvd.
Cheyenne, WY 82009
(307) 777-4359

You may also send us an email.


External Links

ADA Title II Regulations