Wyoming Department of Transportation

100 Years of Excellence

WYDOT historic logo

Pete Schoonmaker (Chair)

Pete Schoonmaker


Term Dates: 03/01/15 to 03/01/21 

Pete Schoonmaker resides in Sheridan, representing Aeronautics Commission District 5, which includes Sheridan, Johnson, Campbell, Weston, and Crook Counties. Schoonmaker is currently chairman, CEO, and president of Summit Gas Resources, Inc., a private natural gas production and exploration company. From 2003 to 2011, he was CEO and president of Pinnacle Gas Resources, Inc., a NASDAQ-listed public company. In 1995, he joined U.S. Energy, a publicly held mining and energy company, serving as president, chief operating officer, and director of U.S. Energy`s subsidiary Rocky Mountain Gas, Inc. In 1985, he served as president, owner, and operator of a land and agricultural company based in Colorado and Wyoming. Additionally, Schoonmaker is director and chairman of the Finance and Investment Committee for the Sheridan-based Whitney Benefits Foundation, a non-profit educational foundation, and received his pilot's license in 1997.

Bill DeVore (Vice Chair)

William DeVore


Term Dates: 03/01/2015 to 03/01/2019

William F. DeVore resides in Casper, representing Aeronautics Commission District Three (3), which includes Fremont, Natrona, Converse, and Niobrara Counties. A Wyoming native, DeVore was born in Laramie, and has lived in Casper most of his life.  He earned his pilot credentials at Big Bend Community College in 1980, a FAR Part 141 approved program. DeVore started his aviation career at Sun Valley Aviation, as a lineman, flight instructor, and charter pilot. He went on to work for Sinclair Oil as a pilot, and later for Columbia Pictures and Sony Corporation in Los Angeles, flying executive jet aircraft.  He holds an Airline Transport Pilot (ATP) certificate, a CFII rating, and holds type ratings in the following turbojet aircraft: Lear Jet, Israeli Aircraft Jet, Cessna Citation 500 series and Dassault Falcon 50/900. DeVore alongside his brother Fred, owns Peterbilt of Wyoming, a medium and heavy duty truck and trailer dealership with four (4) locatations throughout the state, and presently flies a Beech Baron and a Beech Duke for business purposes. He served 10 years on the Casper/Natrona County International Airport Board, including serving two (2) years as president. Additionally, DeVore is an active member of the Casper Rotary Club, as well as the Casper Nordic Ski Club board. He and his wife Nina have three (3) children, and enjoy traveling, cycling, skiing, and spending time at their cabin on Casper Mountain.

John Newton

John Newton


Term Dates: 03/01/2015 to 03/01/2021

John Newton resides in Cody, representing the Aeronautics Commission's District At Large. He is a private pilot, and currently owns a single engine aircraft. He received both college and graduate level degrees in science. Newton is retired from the Federal Bureau of Investigation, after a career as a special agent. Following retirement, he moved to Cody with his wife, and served several terms on the Joint Powers Board at Yellowstone Regional Airport. During this tenure , Newton served two (2) years as Secretary, and one (1) year as Chairman. Additionally, during his time on the board he assisted in the planning, construction, and development of the new airport terminal at Yellowstone  Regional in Cody.

Doyle Vaughan

Doyle Vaughan


Term Dates: 03/01/2014 to 03/01/2020

Doyle Vaughan resides in Jackson, representing Aeronautics Commission District 2, which includes Teton, Sublette, Lincoln, Uinta, Sweetwater, and Carbon Counties. He previously served two (2), five-year terms on the Jackson Hole Airport Board, with two (2) of those years serving as Chairman. He was employed as a captain for Southwest Airlines for over 20 years, and served as an instructor pilot for the U.S. Army Primary Helicopter School at Ft. Wolters, Texas, during the Vietnam War. Following Vaughan's retirement from Southwest, he and his wife Diana founded Vaughan Distributing, which markets synthetic lubricants. Vaughan holds pilot certificate No. 1441331, with airline transport type ratings, and Boeing 737 helicopter and commercial helicopter endorsements. His total flight hours exceed 28,000 accident/incident free flying hours.

Bruce McCormack

Jerry Dilts

Term Dates: 03/01/2017 to 03/01/2023

Photo & Bio Pending...

Chuck Brown III

Charlie Ksir

Term Dates: 03/01/2017 to 03/01/2023

Photo & Bio Pending...

Sigsbee Duck

Chuck Wilkie

Term Dates: 03/01/2017 to 03/01/2023

Photo & Bio Pending...