Wyoming Department of Transportation

100 Years of Excellence

WYDOT historic logo

The Aeronautics Division


The Aeronautics Division assists publicly owned state airports with state and federal funding needs, for use in airport improvements, planning and construction. The Division administers these projects from inception through final construction. 

Primary focuses include aviation safety, promotion of air service in the state, and providing flight services for the Governor, as well as other state employees, who are traveling to conduct state business.

State of Aviation, NAS, NAVAIDS seminar

Schedule your final approach

Save the date:

The State of Aviation – 9 a.m.-noon, Nov. 14

We will discuss aviation issues that pertain to Wyoming including air service, the airport system and economic development. Participation in this public event is limited to 100 stakeholders.

National Air Space System and NAVAIDS Seminar – starting 1 p.m., Nov. 14 and continuing Nov. 15-16

This event is a technical seminar for professionals in the aviation field. Certificates and hours will be mailed to the attendees after the conference if requested. Participation is limited to 40.

Download the pdf to register and for more information.

Fly Wyoming Newsletter


Fly Wyoming

The Fly Wyoming Newsletter highlights the importance of aeronautics in Wyoming. Air service in Wyoming supports more than 12,000 jobs and improves the efficiency of 38,000 jobs while generating $1.4 billion in annual economic activity.

The Department of Transportation and its Aeronautics Division is committed to restoring and maintaining rural air service and the jobs and economic impacts it supports in Wyoming.

Read more in the September/October 2017 Fly Wyoming.


Read the August 2017 Fly Wyoming.

Read the June/July 2017 Fly Wyoming.

Read the May 2017 Fly Wyoming.

Read the April 2017 Fly Wyoming.

Aviation calendar

2018 International Aviation Art Contest

The 2018 International Aviation Art Contest is now accepting entries. This year’s theme is “Flight Into the Future.” The artwork is judged based on creative use of this year’s theme in relation to the aviation world.

For more information about the contest, download the brochure. Please sent entries to:

Aeronautics Division
200 E. 8th Ave.
Cheyenne WY 82003

Contact Us

Contact The Aeronautics Division...

Aeronautics Division
200 E. 8th Ave.
Cheyenne, WY  82001
(307) 777-3952


Main Divisional Contacts:

Tess Smith, Flight Scheduler – (307) 777-3951


Program Management Contact Information:

Amy Surdam, Administrator – (307) 777-3953

Tory Meisel, Flight Operations Manager – (307) 777-3955

Christy Yaffa, Planning and Programming Program Manager – (307) 777-3956

Brian Olsen, Engineering & Construction Program Manager – (307) 777-3914

Sheri Taylor, Air Service Development Program Manager – (307) 777-4360