Wyoming Department of Transportation

100 Years of Excellence

WYDOT historic logo

Vehicle Dealer Compliance Regulation

/files/live/sites/wydot/files/shared/Compliance_and_Investigation/wydot%20c%20%26%20i%20web%20page%20ogo.JPG

The Compliance & Investigation program conducts educational training and compliance reviews for Wyoming dealerships, responds to complaints, issues citations for law violations, and conducts criminal investigations regarding dealer transactions. 

Regulations that apply to Vehicle Dealers in Wyoming:

  • A vehicle dealer license is required for any personselling three or more vehicles in a 12-month period. 
  • A franchise vehicle dealer license is required for any person selling brand new vehicles with a Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO).
  • A vehicle dealer is required to maintain a principal place of business with a sign indicating the nature of the business and a permanent telephone. 
  • A vehicle dealer is required to keep a daily record of all vehicles taken into inventory and all vehicles sold for three years.
  • A vehicle dealer is required to deliver the title to a vehicle purchased by a customer at the time of delivery of the vehicle unless the title is being held by a financial institution or vehicle auctioneer, in such case the title must be delivered within 30 days.
  • A vehicle dealer must properly issue and use temporary permits and dealer plates.
  • A motor vehicle dealer must apply for an organized vehicle show permit to sell vehicles from an authorized location other than the dealership.

 


Do you need to file a formal complaint against a vehicle dealer?

Do you need to find a vehicle dealer investigator in your area?