Wyoming Transportation Commissioners

Bob Ruwart - Chairman

Commissioner Bob RuwartBob Ruwart, of Wheatland, represents Commission District 1, which includes Goshen, Platte and Laramie counties. Ruwart owns and operates Bob Ruwart Motors. He has an associate's degree in automotive marketing from Northwoods Institute, and moved to Wheatland in 1990 from his native Colorado to buy the business that now bears his name.

He has chalked up extensive community service, with memberships and leadership positions with the Wheatland Junior Chamber of Commerce, the Platte County Chamber of Commerce, the Wheatland Economic Development Board, and the Wyoming Automobile Dealers Association. He is serving his second term on the Platte County Economic Development Board of Directors and is a member of an advisory board for the First State Bank of Wheatland.

During his spare time, Ruwart enjoys snowmobiling and riding ATVs, and spending time at the mountain cabin that he and his wife, Rhonda, built.

Mike Larson - Vice Chairman

Photo of Mike LarsonMike Larson, of Lusk, represents Commission District 6, which covers Crook, Niobrara and Weston counties. Larson is retired from a 35-year career as a manager with the Union Pacific Railroad's Engineering Department. With the exception of the first five years, he was based in Lusk for all of his time with U.P.R.R. He currently works part time as a consultant.

He served 12 years on the Niobrara Conservation District Board, is treasurer at his church, and is a past recipient of the "Citizen of the Year" award from the local Chamber of Commerce.
Larson, who was raised in Fremont, Neb., earned a bachelor's degree in civil engineering from the University of Nebraska at Lincoln. He and his wife, Shelly have four children. Larson enjoys outdoor activities, hunting, fishing, camping and skiing.

Todd Seeton

Todd SeetonTodd Seeton, of Jackson, represents Commission District 3, serving Lincoln, Sublette, Teton and Uinta counties. Seeton is an agency manager for Mountain West Farm Bureau Insurance. He has lived in Teton County for 26 years and joined Mountain West Farm Bureau in 1995. He and his wife, Laura, also operate Granite Management, which manages Granite Hot Springs and other recreational sites in Bridger-Teton National Forest.

He is a long-term member of the Rotary Club of Jackson Hole and the Jackson Hole Chamber of Commerce. Among favorite hobbies are outdoor activities with his family, hunting, fishing, backcountry skiing and golf.

Rick Newton

R Newton for web profile.jpg

Rick Newton, of Buffalo, represents Commission District 4, covering Campbell, Johnson and Sheridan counties.  He is retired from a 35-year career as an educator, during which he served as a classroom teacher, principal and administrator.
Newton earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics education and a master's degree in educational administration, both from the University of Wyoming,  and he is a U.S. Army veteran. He has an extensive record of community and volunteer service, including affiliations with the Kiwanis Club, Lions Club, Masonic Lodge, Wyoming High School Activities Association, YMCA. He is also a member of  St. Luke’s Episcopal Church in Buffalo  and the Fort Phil Kearny/Bozeman Trail Association.
Newton is a history buff, with focus on pioneer life, westward expansion and Native American culture. Among hobbies and interests, he lists skiing, golfing, reading, UW athletics and travel. 

Louie Pfrangle

Pfrangle-Louie.jpgLouie Pfrangle, of Worland, represents Commission District 5, which includes Big Horn, Hot Springs, Park and Washakie counties. He is currently a member of the board of directors for Admiral Transport Corporation of Worland.

He graduated from Cody High School, and attended the University of Wyoming on a track scholarship, earning a bachelor’s degree in education. After graduating, he taught school in Lusk and Worland before going to work for Admiral Transport, the transport company for Pepsi Cola. Pfrangle became part owner of Admiral Transport and worked there for over 30 years before retiring in 2007.

Pfrangle is a military veteran and served six years in the Wyoming National Guard prior to working at Admiral Transport.

Pfrangle is married to his wife Kerby. He also has served as past president of the Wyoming Trucking Association and on the Governor’s Safety Council.

Phil Schmidt

Schmidt-Phil.jpgPhil Schmidt, of Casper, represents Commission District 7, which includes Converse, Fremont and Natrona counties. He served as president and majority owner of Casper-based Greiner Motor Companies for almost 30 years.

Schmidt graduated from Rapid City Central High School. He also graduated from Black Hills State College with a bachelor’s degree in business administration with emphasis in accounting.

After graduating, he worked as a certified public account for Shamley, Obermueller and Killmer, CPAs of Casper.

Throughout the years, Schmidt has devoted his time to community involvement serving on several boards and in leadership positions with those organizations. Some of the boards he’s been involved with include the Casper Family YMCA, Wyoming Medical Center, Boys and Girls Club of Central Wyoming, Natrona County Library Foundation, Wyoming Auto Dealers Association, and many more.

Schmidt and wife, Jody, have six children.

Jim Espy

Jim-Espy.jpgJim Espy, of Savery, represents Commission District 2, serving Albany, Carbon and Sweetwater counties. Espy worked as a special assistant attorney general for the state of Wyoming for 10 years. He also has been involved in ranching all of his life, operating his family ranch with his wife, Peggy, and son, Mike. Espy also has worked in banking as a trust officer.

Espy, who was born and raised in Rawlins, graduated from Casper College with an associate degree in agricultural economics. He also obtained his bachelor’s degree from the University of Wyoming in agricultural economics with a minor in accounting. He obtained his law degree from the University of Wyoming.

Espy currently serves as co-chairman of the ENDOW Rural Council. He also has served as the co-chairman of the Wyoming Business Council board of directors, president of the Carbon County Stock Growers and chairman of the Carbon County School District 1 board of trustees.

Among his favorite activities are leather crafting, fishing, visiting museums, panning for gold and attending concerts with his family.