New July 1, Street Rod and Custom Vehicle License Plates
A vehicle may be considered a Street Rod if it meets the following criteria:
- Must be a 1948 or older model, or manufactured after 1948 to resemble a vehicle manufactured before 1949
- The vehicle has been altered from the manufacturer's original design, or has a body constructed from nonoriginal materials
A vehicle may be considered a Custom Vehicle if it meets the following criteria:
- Vehicle must be at least 25 years old and of a model year after 1948, or was manufactured to resemble a vehicle at least 25 years old and of a model year after 1948
- Vehicle has been altered from the manufacturer's original design, or has a body constructed from nonoriginal materials
The fee for a Street Rod or Custom Vehicle License Plate is $100.
Vehicle owner has to have resided in Wyoming for at least 1 year
Vehicle is owned and operated solely for the purposes of organized antique car club activities, parades, exhibitions, tours and other related activities
Vehicle will NOT be used for general transportation
The fee of $100, a copy of the title, proof of payment of sales tax and proof of liability insurance must accompany the application. The registration expires upon transfer of ownership of the vehicle or upon the department's issuance of a new plate design.
Homemade Vehicles and State-Assigned VINs
State-assigned vehicle identification numbers (VIN) are issued to homemade or rebuilt vehicles which do not have a VIN, and to vehicles which have more than one VIN.
Vehicle owners shall apply to WYDOT for a state-assigned VIN if:
- Any part of the vehicle on which the VIN appears is replaced
- A vehicle part containing the VIN is incorporated into another vehicle.
A Wyoming VIN can only be issued to Wyoming residents.
The department shall determine that the applicant for the VIN is the lawful owner of the vehicle. The vehicle will require a VIN inspection to accompany the application. A Wyoming law enforcement officer must perform the inspection.