Wyoming Department of Transportation
image-from-the-document-manager-5

Chain law

Wyoming’s Chain Law

Chain Law illustrationWyoming’s chain law includes two levels of restrictions that can be implemented on specific highway sections when conditions warrant. Wyoming’s chain law includes two levels of restrictions that can be implemented on specific highway sections when conditions warrant.

Level 1

When conditions are hazardous, travel can be restricted to:

  • Vehicles equipped with tire chains; or
  • Vehicles with adequate snow tires; or
  • All-wheel-drive vehicles.

Level 2

When conditions are extremely hazardous, travel can be restricted to:

  • Vehicles equipped with tire chains; or
  • All-wheel-drive vehicles equipped with adequate mud and snow or all-weather-rated tires.

Under Level 2, commercial vehicles must have chains on at least two of the drive wheels at opposite ends of the same drive axle.

Do not stop in the driving lane to install or remove chains!

Penalties for violations:

  • $250 for violating the travel restriction; or
  • $750 for a violation that results in a highway closure.

Visit the statute page to learn more.

Or call: 307-777-4301 for more information


Back to Top